Many companies use animal derived ingredients in supplements, packaged goods and more. It is best to aware of the ingredients, so you do not accidently consume them, even though accidents do happen, (especially at restaurants). I am usually aware with packaged good and supplements, but I can’t even begin to count the amount of times I have accident consumed something with meat in it at a restaurant. They love to sneak bacon or anchovies in dressings and other special sauces and it always gets me. I do not get upset though, because accidents happen and it’s not a big deal.
Ingredients in Supplements to watch out for:
Gelatin: many capsule supplements are made from gelatin, which is usually a blend of pork and bovine (pig and cow). It is easy to forget to check the label. To ensure that you do not consume this type of capsule, look for supplements labeled vegan or free of animal derivatives. You can also look for veggie capsules. Veggie capsules are made from cellulose or polysaccharides, which is an insoluble fiber found in fruits and plants. You can also take a tablet to avoid gelatin as well.
Amino Acids: Amino acids are the building blocks of protein in all animals and plants. In supplements, they are usually derived from animals. It ideal to look for vegan amino acids when purchasing them or look for supplements that state “no animal derivatives.”
Vitamin D3: Some vitamin D3 is sourced from lanolin (sheep’s wool), animal hides or fish oil. Vegan vitamin D3 products are available in many stores.
Vitamin B12: This vitamin is usually made synthetically so it does not contain animal derivatives, however, it can be made from microorganisms found in animals.
Vitamin A: Vitamin A can be made from egg yolks or fish oil. They do make this vitamin with no animal derivatives.
Magnesium Stearate: This ingredient is an excipient that can be derived from pork, butter, chicken, beef, etc. However, many companies are no longer making the supplement from animal derivatives and now making it from vegan sources. You can always look for vegan supplements or ask the manufacturer what it is derived from.
To be safe, look for vegan supplements or supplements that state no animal derivatives. You can always ask the manufacturer what the supplement is derived from and they will be happy to give you some information.